Integrity

background_crocus_flower_263378

I have always been confused about what the word integrity means. I have heard multiple definitions:

  • Honesty
  • Doing the right thing even when no one is watching
  • Sincerity
  • Decency
  • Having strong moral principles

Earlier this month I was feeling curious about what other people thought about integrity. Maybe I could learn from them! So, I posted a poll on this blog. The responses I got were interesting. It turns out that most respondents define integrity as “doing the right thing even when no one is watching.”

But I was still confused. Integrity was muddled with all the other good values. Then, one day I was listening to Brene Brown’s new book, Rising Strong. She has a great definition of Integrity:

“Integrity is choosing courage over comfort, choosing what is right over what is fun, fast or easy, and choosing to practice our values instead of simply professing them.”

As I heard Brene’s definition, I had an epiphany. This is it! The definition I have been looking for! I copied the valuable tidbit down immediately.

Since I have acquired this definition, I have had a better understanding of what integrity is, and how I can better practice it every day. Acting with integrity has become a very important part of my life.

 Here is a great quote I found by David O. McKay, who was a leader in my church. He explains why we should have integrity.

“The world desperately needs men and women of integrity. Nearly every day we hear of fraud, misapplication of funds, false advertising, or other dealings designed to obtain gain by cheating or deception.”

What do you think about integrity? Feel free to share your thoughts in a comment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Integrity

  1. This is one of my favorite quotes about Integrity from Elder Joseph B Wirthlin: Integrity implies such trustworthiness and incorruptibility that we are incapable of being false to a trust or covenant.☺

  2. I love what Brene Brown talks about. Her Ted talk on vulnerability is inspirational, humbling and authentic. To me, integrity is being authentic, admitting when you’re wrong and standing by the values you hold so dear. You may also like Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book, Big Magic 😌

  3. I love this post. I too am interested in integrity and associating with people who have integrity. Thank you for this beautifully written post.

Leave a Reply

